For Immediate Release -- 6/17/05

New York, New York --June 17, 2005 – Dust off your “Members Only Jacket”, shine your “hustle” shoes and get out your red pen to mark the date of Monday, September 19th when The Dance Music Hall of Fame (DMHOF) will raise the roof off of New York's famed Manhattan Center (Grand Ballroom) with the sounds of its 2nd annual Dance Music Hall of Fame Induction Awards Ceremony. Tagged as “the hippest Award Show in town” this boogie down organization will induct and celebrate, well deserving creators of dance music with a red carpet, star-studded event. Through intensive review, the organization announces its second year nominees! Final inductees into the Dance Music Hall of Fame will be announced at a later date.

Also on tap and new this year, is a month of activities which includes a community festival, several middle/high school and college dance music seminars and more! Induction night includes a silent auction of dance music memorabilia, performances from selected inductee's and a 70's themed dance party!

Each year the nominating committee selects nominees in the categories of Performing Artist or Songwriter, Record, Producer, Remixer and DJ. Ballots are then sent to an international voting committee of over 1,000 dance music experts, who select the final inductees. Artists and others that helped shape the dance music industry become eligible for induction 25 years after their first contribution or record release. Who's your Favorite? The Dance Music Hall of Fame 2005 Nominations are:

Performing Artist (3 Inductees will be selected from this list):
Chaka Khan
First Choice
Gloria Gaynor
KC & The Sunshine Band
Loleatta Holloway
Salsoul Orchestra
The Trammps
Village People

Records (5 Inductees will be selected from this list):
Andrea True Connection - “More, More, More”
Bee Gees - “Stayin' Alive”
Cheryl Lynn - “Got To Be Real”
Chic - “Dance, Dance, Dance”
Chic - “Good Times”
Dan Hartman - “Relight My Fire”
Diana Ross - “Love Hangover”
Donna Summer - “Love To Love You Baby”
Gloria Gaynor - “I Will Survive”
Michael Jackson - “Don't' Stop Til You Get Enough”
Silver Convention - “Fly Robin Fly”
Sister Sledge - “We Are Family”
The Trammps - “Disco Inferno”
Van McCoy - “The Hustle”
Vickie Sue Robinson - “Turn The Beat Around”

Producers (3 Inductees will be selected from this list):
Alec R. Costandinos
Barry White
Jacques Morali & Henri Belolo
KC & Richard Finch
Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff
Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards
Patrick Adams
Quincy Jones
Vince Montana Jr.

Remixers (1 Inductee will be selected from this list):
Francois Kevorkian
John “TC” Luongo
Walter Gibbons

DJ's (3 Inductees will be selected from this list):
Bobby “DJ” Guttadaro
David Todd
Francois Kevorkian
Frankie Knuckles
Jim Burgess
John “Jellybean” Benitez
John “TC" Luongo
Nicky Siano
Richie Kaczor
Walter Gibbons

The Dance Music Hall of Fame, a not for profit organization recognizes the contribution of those who have had a significant impact on the evolution and development of dance music. The Dance Music Hall of Fame Induction Awards recognizes deserving pioneers and serves as a celebration of dance music history and its significance to American and International culture. Catherine R. Laporte, The Dance Music Hall of Fame Executive Director states, “Dance Music in the 70's was a cultural movement. The month of events affords us a great opportunity to recognize our greats and to celebrate fantastic memories! The Board of Directors and Advisors are thrilled that we have found such a deserving group of creative dance music pioneers. We look forward to learning who the Inductee's will be and, certainly all who are nominated are worthy. We also are pleased to announce that we have opened the Induction night attendance to both the music trade industry and to the general public. Ticket info will be released in the coming weeks. Stay tuned for additional announcements about the month-long festivities in celebration of what will be a very special Fall season in Dance Music history!”.

For More information on The Dance Music Hall of Fame or the Induction Awards Ceremony log onto .


For more information please contact:
Catherine R. Laporte